NO ONE IS ABOVE THE LAW : What the appointment of Robert Mueller means to a Japanese English teacher teaching in Japan

 

When Vermont Democratic Sen. Patrick Leahy asked Supreme Court nominee Neil Gorsuch, according to the March 21, 2017 report by Mark Sherman and Rica Werner of Associated Press, if a president is free to ignore laws on national security grounds, Gorsuch replied that “nobody is above the law in this country, and that includes the president of the United States.” I start this little blog post of mine with this quote because this is exactly what I would like to see right now.

There are so many sides to the Donald Trump’s presidency. Of course so many things are at risk right now. The compromise by Russia itself or any security breach caused by the leaked intell. Some terrorist groups or a despotic leader of a rogue country might shoot missiles or hack all the computers on this planet while America’s attention is distracted to the internal affairs (all in all, there’s no one else but you, the US, who can lead the world in the right direction!).

I am not saying these are less important than what I am discussing here. They are actually far more important than what I am about to say. But at the same time, what I will argue here is more important for the future: the mindset of youngsters.

It is pointed out everywhere that after Donald Trump, all the hate came out. People who were hiding their frustrations and exasperations based more on negative feelings and ideas like xenophobia or all the other kinds of lopsided and twisted views. Those people are not ashamed of themselves or they have not negative feelings about their biased ideas for that matter.

The reason why I am pointing this out right now is I see that happening among the youth. At least my students are sensible enough to hold their breath and I am putting all the efforts I can put to prevent all the hate filling their minds but if “the” leader of the world is epitomizing the worst bigot, I don’t know how effective such education will be.

I read an article in Washington Post that what Donald Trump wanted was a coronation, not the inauguration. He wanted to be a king, not the president. Yes. This explains a lot of things. Why he does things he does and is frustrated by things. And when I see how the word hater went viral all these years and negative feelings fill the world, he is indeed the king. The king of haters. The king of bigots. The king of the dark side.

I don’t think the world cannot be divided into black and white. It is next to impossible to draw a line of demarcation between good and evil like in the movies (recent movies even depict a lot of heroes who exist between those lines). But there are lines you cannot cross as citizens of a free world ruled by justice and equality. As one who believes in freedom.

One of the last year’s most trending words was “fake news.” It is called the age of lost truth. Well, maybe it is stupid to go up against such a trend. It may be irredeemable and irrevocable. But as I keep telling my students every morning, my mantra is, “I will never go down without a fight” especially when it comes to what I believe from the bottom of my heart.

I see a big fight happening. Trump try to divert people’s attention from his issue with Russia. When none of his remedies worked, then he fired the director of FBI, which was totally an unprecedented demeanor even by the President. This is war. The war we got to win, for the welfare of the world and for the future of the world. And one of the keys is youngsters watching what is happening in the adult world.

I am really and truly hope that the fact that “no one is above the law” will be presented by impeaching the president who thinks he is, like a king. He is no king. There is no such position as a king in a free world right now. And the world is about freedom, equality, and love. Not prejudice, privileges unequally held by limited numbers of people, and hate. The appointment of Robert Mueller is a silver lining in the dark world ruled by Donald Trump. I hope he will get the job done sooner rather than later.

About dw64 (or Masa(aki) or Mark)

I am 52-year-old Japanese male. Ever since I watched Sesame Street when I was VERY young (5 years old?). I fell in love with American English and culture. I learned English hard and now I am teaching it. Then when I was 18, I had an opportunity to stay with an American family in Shell Knob, Missouri and I asked them to educate me as an American kid. So they taught me the American way and even my taste for food has changed completely so I call this rebirth! Then when I was 30 (I visited the U.S. several times but they were short stays), I joined the MA course in teaching English of graduate school in Vermont. I stayed about 10 months there (it was an intensive course). I stayed in a dorm and learned a lot inside and outside of classrooms. I got all the credits but I failed because of the difference in the context between the U.S. and JAPAN cuz it is so hard to teach English in The way I learned in the course because in Japan, teaching is about understanding grammar and structure in Japanese. But my journey does not end here. Last year I was admitted the CELTA course in NYC where I worked hard and got this certificate that certifies that I had finished the course and qualified to teach English to people who want learn English as a second language by Cambridge University standard. So if you are one of those people, send me a message and I can help you learn American English (I got this at Cambridge but basically they teach different English depending on location). Why did I pick NYC? Well, I am a huge fan of American everything! I live the country even when that demagogue guy is the President so I am an authentic fan of it. I mean, I love the U.S. more than anything in this world. There was a guy who loved Japan so much so after he retired he came to Japan and became a citizen. I want to do the same, actually. So now I am so into it, I listen to NYC CBS radio 880 all the time except when I watch dramas on Netflix, HBO or HULLU or read paperbacks on Kindle (read 70 books in the last two years). And then I am writing in English. I hope to be able to write something publishable in the future but I have to learn some more. As for my learning, I have almost done usual stuff so now I decide to do things that native speakers who wish to be writers will do. At least I learned 8000 words and phrases in the last couple years and I confirmed that I know more than 22000 words, which is tantamount to the number of words American graduate school students have. Well I might talk about these things, too, but I will talk about my favorite things in this blog. I love American dramas. I love the ones with some sci-fi portion in it. Like, from HULU, Gotham, Lucifer, Fringe, etc. I love good comedies so I love Seinfeld, SNL and night shows. Netflix? Luke Cage, Daredevil, and other defenders. I love legends of tomorrow, too. HBO, Game of Thrones!! And I also loved Night of and West World. I also might talk about cycling (road biking) and all other stuff! Please feel free to comment!
This entry was posted in My belief, Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NO ONE IS ABOVE THE LAW : What the appointment of Robert Mueller means to a Japanese English teacher teaching in Japan

  1. Pingback: NO ONE IS ABOVE THE LAW : What the appointment of Robert Mueller means to a Japanese English teacher teaching in Japan | My Favorite Things : American Dramas, Cycling, American English learning and teaching, Japanese and American culture…

Leave a Reply

