ARQ: “Wake Up, Try Something New, Screw Up and Die, Repeat”

ARQ: “Wake Up, Try Something New, Screw Up and Die, Repeat”

A Short Movie : my ratings : 60 and 80 at the same time!! (criteria at the end) Two ratings exist at the same time in two different dimensions!

Do you know “Shining” by Stanley Kubrick? Book fans out there are right now protesting that it is by Stephen King. I read the book version and watched the movie version so I enjoyed both versions and I loved both versions. Now, I have been so busy that I want to say, “All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy!” Yes, I admit to the fact that I wrote all this just to say this but at the same time, “Shining” is my favorite movie / book so it is worth mentioning, I guess.

 

Now a time machine is every sci-fi creators should be able to deal with and should deal with at some point. Recently, I watched Legends of the Heroes by D.C. Comics and the first season was not bad (And I haven’t watched them yet but I saw the spot of NBC’s Timeless and ABC’s … what’s-it-name and they are both about time travels). I might talk about it when they started to stream the second season but today I will talk about a short flic by Netflix.

 

Now a spoiler alert!! If you want to watch it without any knowledge whatsoever like I did and want to try to find out what’s going on as you watch stop right here!! I will leave some space here. (And Trailer)

 

 

 

Now it is about a time loop. I sometimes watch WWE. Yes, I admit it. Maybe you guys feel professional wrestling is “FAKE (news)” and no program for decent adults. Well, I am from the generation most members of which grew up watching professional wrestling. Somehow, though I am 100 % sure that they are acting out the scripts (they call wrestlers even “actors” nowadays), I get thrilled when my favorite superstars beat the hxxx out of their adversaries. Now in WWE, there was an “actor” who kept saying, “Eat, Conquer, Sleep, Repeat.” This movie reminds me of this phrase and when I was watching the movie, I found myself repeating to myself, “Wake Up, Try Something New, Screw Up and Die, Repeat”

 

I will not spoil how this transpires but well please watch and find out. (Or if you email me, I will divulge secretly)

 

So first I felt it was cheap, I mean, I have seen this type of story over and over. It is not bad but I was not really surprised. But if I was asked whether watching this was a mistake, I would say it was not. Actually I am lured into watching it all over again as I write this piece.

 

Before I started to write this, I was just about to criticize and how bad this movie was but as I recall each scene… I kind of liked it.

 

I am sorry but to be blunt, this is my candid feeling. If you like a little short movie which you can sit back and enjoy, maybe this is it. This movie might be many things but not certainly a major amazing piece which blows your mind completely and leaves you speechless with unexpected repercussions. But if you are a sci-fi fan, this might potentially leave you smile at the end. (I am not saying this movie has a happy ending or bad nightmarish ending)

 

CRITERIA :

Now and then I will write a brief review on TV shows, movies and novels. I might write about something more.

I basically write my impressions and then give scores. But mind you, it is personal. I just want to note that I like a tad stimulating mystery, sci-fi, spy and cop stuff.

My favorite dramas are Games of Thrones, West World, Seinfeld, Fringe, Saturday Night Live, 24 and stuff.

100 are a full mark. If it is over 90, I really love it. 80, still favorable, 70, so-so, I will not give below 60 so often so if there is one, that is terrible things to see.

 

About dw64 (or Masa(aki) or Mark)

I am 52-year-old Japanese male. Ever since I watched Sesame Street when I was VERY young (5 years old?). I fell in love with American English and culture. I learned English hard and now I am teaching it. Then when I was 18, I had an opportunity to stay with an American family in Shell Knob, Missouri and I asked them to educate me as an American kid. So they taught me the American way and even my taste for food has changed completely so I call this rebirth! Then when I was 30 (I visited the U.S. several times but they were short stays), I joined the MA course in teaching English of graduate school in Vermont. I stayed about 10 months there (it was an intensive course). I stayed in a dorm and learned a lot inside and outside of classrooms. I got all the credits but I failed because of the difference in the context between the U.S. and JAPAN cuz it is so hard to teach English in The way I learned in the course because in Japan, teaching is about understanding grammar and structure in Japanese. But my journey does not end here. Last year I was admitted the CELTA course in NYC where I worked hard and got this certificate that certifies that I had finished the course and qualified to teach English to people who want learn English as a second language by Cambridge University standard. So if you are one of those people, send me a message and I can help you learn American English (I got this at Cambridge but basically they teach different English depending on location). Why did I pick NYC? Well, I am a huge fan of American everything! I live the country even when that demagogue guy is the President so I am an authentic fan of it. I mean, I love the U.S. more than anything in this world. There was a guy who loved Japan so much so after he retired he came to Japan and became a citizen. I want to do the same, actually. So now I am so into it, I listen to NYC CBS radio 880 all the time except when I watch dramas on Netflix, HBO or HULLU or read paperbacks on Kindle (read 70 books in the last two years). And then I am writing in English. I hope to be able to write something publishable in the future but I have to learn some more. As for my learning, I have almost done usual stuff so now I decide to do things that native speakers who wish to be writers will do. At least I learned 8000 words and phrases in the last couple years and I confirmed that I know more than 22000 words, which is tantamount to the number of words American graduate school students have. Well I might talk about these things, too, but I will talk about my favorite things in this blog. I love American dramas. I love the ones with some sci-fi portion in it. Like, from HULU, Gotham, Lucifer, Fringe, etc. I love good comedies so I love Seinfeld, SNL and night shows. Netflix? Luke Cage, Daredevil, and other defenders. I love legends of tomorrow, too. HBO, Game of Thrones!! And I also loved Night of and West World. I also might talk about cycling (road biking) and all other stuff! Please feel free to comment!
This entry was posted in Roadbike. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ARQ: “Wake Up, Try Something New, Screw Up and Die, Repeat”

  1. Pingback: ARQ: “Wake Up, Try Something New, Screw Up and Die, Repeat” | My Favorite Things : American Dramas, Cycling, American English learning and teaching, Japanese and American culture…

Leave a Reply

