One more month

Till when? Till I am free from this busy period and have a week off. A few week have passed by since the last entry. I am still busy like 6 days a week working 12 hours at the office, come back and do some more computer work. I spend 4 hours of my Sunday on some computer work again. I worked o 3 of my last 4 holidays and that’s why I was not able to update my blog.

It is getting colder here in Japan. Tomorrow the lowest temperature in my city will be around 34 F and the highest will be around 50 F. Well I now ride only inside my house barring commuting time. I ride 5 to 10 km on a road outside and ride 30 inside. I ride inside partly because it is completely dark outside during early hours and night (I get off work after 20:00) and it is dangerous to ride a long distance but I ride inside not least because I can pedal and watch videos.

As I wrote somewhere before, I am teaching English but at the same time a student of English myself, too and want to improve my English, too. Ever since I was attracted by the US and attracted by its culture and language 42 years ago without being aware of it and became aware of it about 38 years ago, I have been in love with English, especially American English and devoted my life to it by learning and teaching it. I home-stayed in Missouri, I went to English language department, I got MA in American literature and I went to MA course in teaching English in graduate school in Vermont (I did not submit MA thesis and failed to get a degree but I got all the credits. At that time I wanted to experience school life in the States with making friends, which had been a dream of my life time (come to think of it, I want to do it again if I ever have a chance!) and did not care about a degree much. I have MA already though it is in literature major). Then when I became 48 years old last year, I got fired up again. In Japan people use Chinese zodiac system and 12 years is one unit. And when you go 5 rounds, you complete a big circle and get back to the starting point again. Until recently, we did not used to have that long life span as we are enjoying today, it almost meant the end of life itself and the life after it is like an encore for an orchestra.

So I have this feeling that my time is pressing on me. I don’t think my life will end there but I feel that I have to sum up my life there even if I should have a couple round of 12 years after that. So when I look back on my life, I devoted myself to learning American English, its culture and everything about America, good side and dark side, too. I really feel grateful to my host father and mother, siblings I had back when I was 18 years old. They really accepted my as their family. I can still feel the water of Table Rock lake in Shell Knob and can see everyone’s face through my inner eyes. I am more than grateful to many of my classmates in graduate school in Vermont. When I talked about how I had been hovering between Japan and US (in a course of learning English, I excised many “Japanese portions in myself, which wound up giving me some unacceptable traits to some of the “traditional” Japanese people), they warmly offered me to come to their side. Each one of experience I had, especially with “American people,” made my love for them and their country deep and strong. That is why though I see many dark sides of the nation once in a while, I still love this country and its people.

Well, I am sorry to have been running on like this. Today, maybe because I have been under heavy stress lately, I cannot stop writing all these. I am spelling out something which have been deep inside of me. So, I am studying English, especially American English. I am brushing up on my pronunciation, grammar, vocabulary so that some day I can be an American in terms of language (It is difficult to do it in other ways when you have a stable job, wife and kids. I haven’t given up on it, though). And I am doing it not to prove anything to anybody or think of “quid quo pro” of any kind. I just want to achieve it to round my life up with it. Maybe I want to be as close to America, my dream land. And to return from the huge digression, I am riding my stationary bike inside my house on my stationary bike because then I can watch NBC podcast, ipodU and DVDs of American sitcom to enjoy and improve my English.

Well I don’t know how to wrap up this unorganized “lay-baring” of my mind. I would like to end my strange entry by shouting out, “Thank you America and I love you all the people out there.”

PS Seriously, I am once again really sorry that I was kind of out of control and have been bubbling on. From next time, I would like to go back to introduction of Japan and all.

About dw64 (or Masa(aki) or Mark)

I am 52-year-old Japanese male. Ever since I watched Sesame Street when I was VERY young (5 years old?). I fell in love with American English and culture. I learned English hard and now I am teaching it. Then when I was 18, I had an opportunity to stay with an American family in Shell Knob, Missouri and I asked them to educate me as an American kid. So they taught me the American way and even my taste for food has changed completely so I call this rebirth! Then when I was 30 (I visited the U.S. several times but they were short stays), I joined the MA course in teaching English of graduate school in Vermont. I stayed about 10 months there (it was an intensive course). I stayed in a dorm and learned a lot inside and outside of classrooms. I got all the credits but I failed because of the difference in the context between the U.S. and JAPAN cuz it is so hard to teach English in The way I learned in the course because in Japan, teaching is about understanding grammar and structure in Japanese. But my journey does not end here. Last year I was admitted the CELTA course in NYC where I worked hard and got this certificate that certifies that I had finished the course and qualified to teach English to people who want learn English as a second language by Cambridge University standard. So if you are one of those people, send me a message and I can help you learn American English (I got this at Cambridge but basically they teach different English depending on location). Why did I pick NYC? Well, I am a huge fan of American everything! I live the country even when that demagogue guy is the President so I am an authentic fan of it. I mean, I love the U.S. more than anything in this world. There was a guy who loved Japan so much so after he retired he came to Japan and became a citizen. I want to do the same, actually. So now I am so into it, I listen to NYC CBS radio 880 all the time except when I watch dramas on Netflix, HBO or HULLU or read paperbacks on Kindle (read 70 books in the last two years). And then I am writing in English. I hope to be able to write something publishable in the future but I have to learn some more. As for my learning, I have almost done usual stuff so now I decide to do things that native speakers who wish to be writers will do. At least I learned 8000 words and phrases in the last couple years and I confirmed that I know more than 22000 words, which is tantamount to the number of words American graduate school students have. Well I might talk about these things, too, but I will talk about my favorite things in this blog. I love American dramas. I love the ones with some sci-fi portion in it. Like, from HULU, Gotham, Lucifer, Fringe, etc. I love good comedies so I love Seinfeld, SNL and night shows. Netflix? Luke Cage, Daredevil, and other defenders. I love legends of tomorrow, too. HBO, Game of Thrones!! And I also loved Night of and West World. I also might talk about cycling (road biking) and all other stuff! Please feel free to comment!
This entry was posted in Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

