HillClimb Training Again

As for cycling, I am pretty active this week because this week is still my summer vacation week. My work day starts this Saturday and I have to go shopping in COSTCO tomorrow so today is kind of the last day I was able to ride freely whole day, though. Of course the average temperature was 33.4 º C (that is 92 º F) and the maximum temperature was 40º C (104 º F) so I was NOT able to spend a whole day riding.

So I went for a hillclimbing training again. There is one climbing contest in June which I am thinking of participating next year and I went to climb its course. A part of it is the one I climbed the other day but I have to climb more. Usually I climb the bottom 3.8 kilometers, whose average degree is 7 % and maximum of 10 %. Then I have to ride up and down some road for 4 to 5 kilometers ( this is in a sense harder because those roads are not steep enough to go slowly but flat enough to go fast). Then I have to climb more but this time it IS steep. The average maybe around 10% with the maximum climb of 14 % (According to Garmin). So I climbed 11 kilometers and climbed about 500 meters (1660 ft).

Garmin DATA site :
http://connect.garmin.com/activity/213896356

Then I went through an usual route and came home, through a pass which is shorter (3 kilometers) but tougher with 15% climb.

So today I rode 133 (83 miles) kilometers (actually about 140km, 88ml) and climbed 1325 m (4347 ft). Well, the only thing I can say is “it is HOT.”

Here are some pictures:

After riding side by side with “big speeding trucks,” I rode the safer bicycle road. The cracks are some aftermath of that big earthquake a year and a half ago. They fixed most of the roads for cars but have’t done those small roads for bikes and pedestrians yet.

So, I came to climb that mountain! (Actually it is 800 meters high and a parking lot I am trying to reach is about 500 meters high).

This is it! I don’t get off one the way so sorry there is no picture. The big thing up on top of the roof is “A Big Toad” or “GAMA.” This mountain is famous because there used to be people who sold medicine they “claimed” they had made from the magical toads which had 4 fingers on its front legs and 6 fingers on rear legs.

View from the road on its way. Mor magnificent in real life but I am not skilled enough to show it with iPhone.

So, if you are not afraid of high places, this is a great down hill ride with awesome view!! Gott to be a bit scared, though, so that you will not go too fast and go over the guardrail 😛

So tomorrow I will be a good husband , go shopping in COSCO and will be carrying a big box of pizza, a bag of onions and so on.

About dw64 (or Masa(aki) or Mark)

I am 52-year-old Japanese male. Ever since I watched Sesame Street when I was VERY young (5 years old?). I fell in love with American English and culture. I learned English hard and now I am teaching it. Then when I was 18, I had an opportunity to stay with an American family in Shell Knob, Missouri and I asked them to educate me as an American kid. So they taught me the American way and even my taste for food has changed completely so I call this rebirth! Then when I was 30 (I visited the U.S. several times but they were short stays), I joined the MA course in teaching English of graduate school in Vermont. I stayed about 10 months there (it was an intensive course). I stayed in a dorm and learned a lot inside and outside of classrooms. I got all the credits but I failed because of the difference in the context between the U.S. and JAPAN cuz it is so hard to teach English in The way I learned in the course because in Japan, teaching is about understanding grammar and structure in Japanese. But my journey does not end here. Last year I was admitted the CELTA course in NYC where I worked hard and got this certificate that certifies that I had finished the course and qualified to teach English to people who want learn English as a second language by Cambridge University standard. So if you are one of those people, send me a message and I can help you learn American English (I got this at Cambridge but basically they teach different English depending on location). Why did I pick NYC? Well, I am a huge fan of American everything! I live the country even when that demagogue guy is the President so I am an authentic fan of it. I mean, I love the U.S. more than anything in this world. There was a guy who loved Japan so much so after he retired he came to Japan and became a citizen. I want to do the same, actually. So now I am so into it, I listen to NYC CBS radio 880 all the time except when I watch dramas on Netflix, HBO or HULLU or read paperbacks on Kindle (read 70 books in the last two years). And then I am writing in English. I hope to be able to write something publishable in the future but I have to learn some more. As for my learning, I have almost done usual stuff so now I decide to do things that native speakers who wish to be writers will do. At least I learned 8000 words and phrases in the last couple years and I confirmed that I know more than 22000 words, which is tantamount to the number of words American graduate school students have. Well I might talk about these things, too, but I will talk about my favorite things in this blog. I love American dramas. I love the ones with some sci-fi portion in it. Like, from HULU, Gotham, Lucifer, Fringe, etc. I love good comedies so I love Seinfeld, SNL and night shows. Netflix? Luke Cage, Daredevil, and other defenders. I love legends of tomorrow, too. HBO, Game of Thrones!! And I also loved Night of and West World. I also might talk about cycling (road biking) and all other stuff! Please feel free to comment!
This entry was posted in Culture, Cycle, Japanese Culture, Roadbike and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to HillClimb Training Again

  1. pudgycyclist says:

    You my friend are a beast of a hill climber! what motivates you to ride in the afternoon with that type of heat? I’ve been wanting to road bike in the afternoon, but my problem is that I am more of a morning person and like to do my workouts in the morning. keep up the great work!

    • Thank you for a comment and compliment! Well, I am usually training in the morning, the same as you! Today, I was lazy and left home later than usual and ended up riding at the hottest hour of the day. Well, I gotta admit that if I don’t have time in the morning I sometimes go riding in the heat of the afternoon, though. The only thing I can say, my friend, is that I may be crazy. . . Of course I am careful about my condition and have two bottles, one for drinking and one for pouring onto my neck, thighs and wherever artery is running. Good luck with you workouts, too!

      • pudgycyclist says:

        I wanted to ask, what are your crank specs when you do hill climbing? I currently have a double crank, and believe it is not optimized for hill climbing. I’m think more of a triple crank would help out. Thanks!

      • Well, mine’s a regular compact double crank, two. A compact crank with 12t to 25t rear rings. Some of my friends use 23t ring for the flat road and for climbing, 25t. Idealistically, if you attend hill climb races, a single front ring is popular, too, to make your bike as light as possible. Maybe it is worth experimenting. My CAAD nine has normal crank and 27t but I feel a compact crank with 25t is better.

Leave a Reply

